H.R. No. 641

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, With an impressive display of skill and 2 determination, the hunter seat team of the Baylor University 3 equestrian program won the National Collegiate Equestrian 4 Association title on April 14, 2012, in Waco; and

5 WHEREAS, The triumph took place at the NCEA National 6 Championship, which featured the 12 top programs in the country; 7 the Baylor riders advanced through the hunter seat bracket with a 8 series of exceptional performances, including an upset of defending 9 champion Auburn; and

WHEREAS, In the finals, the Bears matched up against Texas A&M University in a thrilling and closely fought battle; the title was not decided until the last ride, but when the points were tallied, Baylor edged the Aggies by a score of 1,192 to 1,070 to claim the university's first national title in the sport; and

15 WHEREAS, The victory in the hunter seat event also helped the 16 Bears to take third place in the overall equestrian competition, 17 which is the highest finish in the program's history; in making 18 their fine showing at the NCEA Championship, the Baylor riders drew 19 on the expertise and inspiration provided by head coach Ellen 20 White, assistant hunter seat coach Stacy Lane-Sanderson, and 21 western coach Cindy Walquist; and

WHEREAS, Winning a national championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an enduring commitment to excellence, and these talented student-athletes will

1

H.R. No. 641 1 treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the rest of their 2 lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Baylor University hunter seat team on its victory at the 2012 National Collegiate Equestrian Association National Championship and extend to the team's riders, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Sanford

H.R. No. 641

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 641

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 641 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House