H.R. No. 642

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust is recognizing the 2013
- 2 Texas Medal of Arts Award winners at a gala event in Austin on March
- 3 4 and 5, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards pay tribute to
- 5 individual Texas artists as well as arts institutions and
- 6 businesses that have made important contributions to a variety of
- 7 artistic disciplines in the state, either through personal
- 8 achievement or through generous support; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Those selected for the 2013 biennial awards are
- 10 Steve Miller, Music; Eva Longoria, Multimedia; Ricardo Chavira,
- 11 Television; Joe Sears and Jaston Williams, Theater; James Surls,
- 12 Visual Arts; the Houston Ballet, Dance; Gigi Antoni and Big
- 13 Thought, Arts Education; Gene Jones and Charlotte Jones Anderson,
- 14 Individual Art Patrons; the Kimbell Art Foundation, Foundation Arts
- 15 Patron; and Texas Monthly, Corporate Arts Patron; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The arts greatly enhance the quality of life in
- 17 Texas, and the creative individuals and committed patrons being
- 18 honored by the Texas Cultural Trust have contributed immeasurably
- 19 to the rich cultural tapestry of the Lone Star State; now,
- 20 therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2013 Texas
- 23 Medal of Arts Awards and express deep appreciation for their
- 24 dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and, be it

H.R. No. 642

- 1 further
- 2 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for each
- 3 award winner as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives.

Guillen

TT	-	7. T	642
Н		NΩ	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 642 was adopted by the House on March 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House