## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mary Lynn Morris is retiring from the Dallas 2 Marshal's Office on March 5, 2013, drawing to a close a notable 3 career in public service that has spanned nearly three decades; and

WHEREAS, After graduating from Wilmer-Hutchins High School, 4 5 Mary Morris joined the City of Dallas as a clerk in 1984, and in 1986, she completed her training with the Regional Police Academy 6 and became the first African American woman ever hired by the Dallas 7 Marshal's Office; her duties as a deputy marshal included 8 transferring prisoners, enforcing warrants, and participating in 9 special task forces; she was promoted to sergeant in 1991 and to 10 11 chief deputy in 1999; and

12 WHEREAS, In 2004, Ms. Morris became the assistant director of the Department of Code Compliance, and during this time she also 13 14 worked as a reserve chief deputy constable; when she returned to the Dallas Marshal's Office as city marshal in 2008, she earned the 15 further distinction of becoming the first woman and the first 16 African American to hold that position; in addition, she has served 17 on a number of state and federal committees and received a lifetime 18 membership with the Texas Police Chiefs Association; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Marshal Morris holds a bachelor's degree in 21 political science from Dallas Baptist University and an associate's 22 degree in criminal justice from El Centro College; she is a licensed 23 Master Peace Officer and has been certified as a law enforcement 24 instructor and a defensive driving instructor; and

1

1 WHEREAS, In addition to her professional responsibilities, 2 this dynamic woman has found time to give back to her community 3 through her support of the Children and Family Shelter, the Bridge 4 of Hope Foundation, the YMCA, the American Society for the 5 Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, and the Hospice Foundation of 6 America; and

7 WHEREAS, Mary Morris's dedication, professionalism, and 8 commitment to preserving the safety of the public have greatly 9 benefited the people of Dallas and earned her the respect and 10 admiration of her fellow peace officers, and she may indeed reflect 11 with pride on a career well spent; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 13 Legislature hereby congratulate City Marshal Mary Lynn Morris on 14 her retirement and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued 15 success and happiness; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for Marshal Morris as an expression of high regard by the 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 645 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House