RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For more than 60 years, the National Aeronautics and
- 2 Space Administration has inspired our nation and the world with its
- 3 outstanding record of intrepid space exploration and scientific
- 4 discovery; and
- 5 WHEREAS, NASA's innumerable engineering advances have
- 6 greatly benefited our nation's security, safety, and
- 7 communications systems, and innovations pioneered by NASA
- 8 scientists and engineers have led to such improvements in
- 9 healthcare technology as the MRI and the CAT scan, the fetal heart
- 10 monitor, and the programmable heart pacemaker; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The agency's strong presence in the Lone Star State
- 12 has long been a source of pride for all Texans; the Johnson Space
- 13 Center in Houston is a global leader in human spaceflight, serving
- 14 as the training center for America's corps of astronauts; the
- 15 center is continuing that legacy by serving as the headquarters for
- 16 the development of the nation's latest spacecraft, the Orion
- 17 Multi-Purpose Crew Vehicle; this effort includes working with
- 18 private partners and conducting advanced research that will
- 19 strengthen the future of space exploration; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The Johnson Space Center also plays a vital role in
- 21 the Texas economy, employing more than 3,000 civil servants and
- 22 approximately 12,000 civilian contractors and awarding \$4.9
- 23 billion in contracts every year; in addition, NASA's Space Alliance
- 24 Technology Outreach Program benefits small businesses across the

- 1 state, and through education programs such as Texas Aerospace
- 2 Scholars, NASA is nurturing and inspiring a new generation of
- 3 scientists, engineers, and explorers; and
- 4 WHEREAS, NASA continues to drive further innovation in the
- 5 aerospace and high-tech industries, and its development of
- 6 technologies that simultaneously reach for the stars and better our
- 7 lives here on Earth is truly deserving of special recognition; now,
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby recognize March 19, 2013, as Space Day at the
- 11 State Capitol and honor the National Aeronautics and Space
- 12 Administration for its immeasurable contributions to this state and
- 13 nation.

J. Davis of Harris

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 651 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House