## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A full and productive life drew to a close with the
passing of San Angelo philanthropist Amy McLaughlin on June 7,
2011, at the age of 78; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of David and Thelma Johnson, the former 4 Amy Johnson was born in San Antonio on September 6, 1932; while a 5 student at Thomas Jefferson High School, she won the Miss Teena 6 7 Texas title and served as major of her school's pep squad; she went on to earn her bachelor's degree in home economics at The University 8 9 of Texas at Austin, where she was elected secretary of the student body, was named a Bluebonnet Belle, and was a member of Delta Delta 10 11 Delta; and

WHEREAS, She married Mark McLaughlin in 1954, and they became the parents of four children, Michael, Laure, Brian, and Matthew; the couple lived on Sheppard Air Force Base and in Austin and Snyder before settling in San Angelo in 1965; through the years, Mrs. McLaughlin knew the joy of welcoming six treasured grandchildren, Claire, Blake, Annie, Stuart, Sarah, and Emily; and

WHEREAS, Devoted to her family, Mrs. McLaughlin also found time to benefit her community in a variety of ways; she was president of the San Angelo Junior League and of the San Angelo Symphony Society, and she served on the boards of the Fort Concho National Historic Landmark and the San Angelo Cultural Affairs Council as well; moreover, she was involved with the San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts and served on the fund-raising committee for the

1

1 Stephens Central Library; and

2 WHEREAS, This proud UT alumna was a generous supporter of her 3 alma mater and a staunch proponent of higher education; in 1982, the board of regents of The University of Texas System established the 4 5 Amy Johnson McLaughlin Centennial Professorship in Home Economics to recognize her contributions; she later served as co-chair of a 6 committee that raised construction funds for the Seay Building, 7 8 which now houses several Human Ecology departments, and the university named a foyer in her honor; more recently, she was 9 recognized with the creation of the Amy Johnson McLaughlin 10 Administrative Chair in Human Ecology; and 11

WHEREAS, She and her husband were among the earliest benefactors of the San Angelo Area Foundation and made a major donation to underwrite its scholarship program; a caring mentor, Mrs. McLaughlin enjoyed attending the scholarship luncheons and following the progress of the young recipients; and

WHEREAS, Gracious, warm, and thoughtful of others, Amy McLaughlin earned a special place in the hearts of innumerable people, and she made a lasting, positive difference through her selfless dedication to civic life; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 22 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Amy Johnson 23 McLaughlin and extend sincere condolences to her loved ones; and, 24 be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the members of her family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Amy

2

## 1 Johnson McLaughlin.

Darby

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 653 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 28, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House