RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many proud citizens of Lamar County are visiting the

State Capitol on March 27, 2013, to celebrate the prominent role

3 this Northeast Texas county has played in the annals of the Lone

4 Star State; and

2

12

13

5 WHEREAS, At the time of the Republic of Texas, present-day

6 Lamar County was located within the boundaries of Red River County;

7 population growth led the Fifth Congress of the republic to

8 establish Lamar County on December 17, 1840, and the current

9 boundaries were drawn 30 years later when a portion of land was

10 carved out for the creation of Delta County; and

11 WHEREAS, Lamar County's namesake was the fourth president of

the Republic of Texas, Mirabeau B. Lamar; the small settlement of

Lafayette served as the first county seat, but after the Texas

14 Congress passed a law requiring that each county seat be located

15 within five miles of the county's geographic center, Mount Vernon

16 served briefly in that capacity until the town of Paris was founded

17 on 50 acres donated by George W. Wright; Paris has served as the

18 county seat since 1844; and

19 WHEREAS, Numerous early settlers migrated to Lamar County

20 through Tennessee and Kentucky and established small farms; at the

21 turn of the century, the county remained primarily rural, and

22 although the population of Paris had grown to more than 9,000, no

23 other community exceeded 1,000 residents; the industrial economy

24 gradually began to make gains on agriculture in the 20th century as

- 1 people moved into towns and smaller communities, and Paris played
- 2 an increasingly important role in the economy of Northeast Texas;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Today, Paris is a regional hub of retail trade,
- 5 farming, and medical care and home to three Fortune 500 companies,
- 6 Campbell Soup Company, Kimberly-Clark Corporation, and Florida
- 7 Power and Light, as well as its newest major employer, James Skinner
- 8 Baking Company; the city is located within an excellent multimodal
- 9 transportation network, and in addition to numerous food and
- 10 consumer goods manufacturing plants, it is home to distribution
- 11 centers that serve the entire nation; and
- WHEREAS, Quality of life in Paris is enhanced by Paris Junior
- 13 College and several excellent independent school districts, and by
- 14 such beautiful recreation areas as Wade Park, Lake Gibbons, Lake
- 15 Crook, and the Sam Bell Maxey State Historic Structure; every
- 16 summer, citizens enjoy the Tour de Paris bike race along the 12-mile
- 17 Trail de Paris, and concerts by the Paris Municipal Band, the oldest
- 18 such ensemble in the state; landmarks include the Culbertson
- 19 Fountain in the historic district, named "the prettiest plaza in
- 20 the State of Texas" by Texas Monthly magazine, and the "third
- 21 largest Eiffel Tower in the Second Largest Paris," a 65-foot-tall
- 22 monument constructed by local workers and capped, appropriately,
- 23 with a cowboy hat; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The industrious residents of this vibrant Texas
- 25 county are preserving the best of their past while working to meet
- 26 the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead, and it is indeed a
- 27 pleasure to honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize March 27, 2013, as Lamar County Day at
- 3 the State Capitol and extend to the delegation sincere best wishes
- 4 for an enjoyable and memorable visit.

Lavender

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia		Parker
	Guillen	_
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
_	Johnson	Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales		
GUIIZALES	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker of the House		
;	adopted by the House on March	

I certify that H.R. No. 656 was adopted by the House on March 13, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House