H.R. No. 663

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For 60 years, families of St. Thomas Aquinas
- 2 Catholic Church in Dallas have joined together to celebrate their
- 3 faith; and
- WHEREAS, The history of St. Thomas Aguinas parish begins in
- 5 1947, when St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School opened its doors;
- 6 soon after, young Father John T. Gulczynski began working toward
- 7 establishing a parish for the East Dallas community; in 1952,
- 8 Bishop Thomas K. Gorman established the parish and appointed Father
- 9 Gulczynski both monsignor and pastor; St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic
- 10 Church, with its striking Gothic architecture, was officially
- 11 dedicated in 1957 and has since played a vital role in the
- 12 community, providing area residents with myriad opportunities for
- 13 spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The congregation of nearly 4,000 families has
- 15 benefited from the able leadership of a number of dedicated
- 16 priests, and today that tradition of service continues under the
- 17 direction of Father John Libone, with the assistance of Deacons Ken
- 18 Reisor, Rick Harrington, and Edward Leyden and Father Vic
- 19 Bartolotta, who is the newly appointed parish catechetical leader
- 20 and youth minister; and
- 21 WHEREAS, St. Thomas Aquinas parish has long contributed to
- 22 the East Dallas community, and countless area Catholics have found
- 23 spiritual inspiration and guidance there; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 663

- 1 Legislature commemorate the 60th anniversary of St. Thomas Aquinas
- 2 Catholic Church and extend to its parishioners sincere best wishes
- 3 for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the parish as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Sheets Branch Johnson

TT	ח	NT a	663
Н	ĸ	No.	nn3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 663 was adopted by the House on March 13, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House