H.R. No. 669

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Leadership Southwest Class of 2013 2 are visiting the State Capitol on March 20, 2013, to gain further 3 insight into the workings of state government; and

WHEREAS, An initiative of the communities of southwest Dallas 4 5 County, Leadership Southwest had 23 participants in its inaugural class of 1985, and over the ensuing 28 years it has graduated 6 approximately 1,000 civic-minded individuals; the organization is 7 a cooperative effort sponsored by the Cedar Hill, DeSoto, 8 Duncanville, Lancaster, and Oak Cliff Chambers of Commerce that 9 works to develop tomorrow's leaders and inspire the spirit of 10 11 activism for the public good; and

WHEREAS, The nine-month program involves exposure to critical issues facing the community and instruction from leaders on topics such as education, law enforcement, the arts, government, economic growth, health, and transportation; many participants go on to serve their fellow Texans on the boards of schools, hospitals, and other institutions or through elected offices; and

18 WHEREAS, Endeavoring to foster a more informed and involved 19 citizenry and to develop new leaders, Leadership Southwest is 20 helping build a brighter and more prosperous future for the Lone 21 Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby welcome members of the Leadership Southwest Class of 2013 to the State Capitol and extend to all participants

1

H.R. No. 669 1 sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin; 2 and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Leadership Southwest as an expression of high regard 5 by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Davis of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Rose

H.R. No. 669

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 669

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 669 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House