H.R. No. 673

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Sealy lost one of their most admired

2 community leaders with the passing of Joe Burttschell on June 3,

3 2012, at the age of 83; and

WHEREAS, Born on February 24, 1929, Joe Burttschell was the

5 son of Walter Anton and Laura Brune Burttschell; he graduated from

6 Sealy High School in 1946 and then attended Tarleton State

7 University before transferring to Texas A&M University, where he

8 earned his bachelor's degree in 1950; that same year, he married the

9 love of his life, Alice Vernell Reichardt, with whom he had four

10 children, Bill, Kathy, Michael, and John; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Burttschell built a 37-year career with

ExxonMobil, beginning as a roustabout at the Katy Humble plant and

13 retiring as a supervisor of the East Texas Division; while

14 balancing work and family responsibilities, he participated in the

15 Sealy Lions Club, the Sealy Cemetery Association Board, and the Cat

16 Spring Agricultural Society, and he further distinguished himself

17 through his dedication to the Sealy Little League, which he served

18 as president; he was committed to improving the community's sports

19 facilities, and as a member of the Parks and Recreation Board, he

20 advocated for the creation of a T-ball field that was later named in

21 his honor; and

12

22 WHEREAS, Among his other civic contributions were serving as

23 a trustee for the Sealy Independent School District, as scholarship

24 chair of the Austin County A&M Club, and as a longtime member of the

H.R. No. 673

- 1 Sealy Tiger Booster Club, from which he received the "Old Man Award"
- 2 for his support of local athletics; and
- WHEREAS, Following his retirement in 1986, Mr. Burttschell
- 4 continued ranching in Sealy and Cat Spring for many years, and he
- 5 served as municipal judge for both San Felipe and Sealy; he enjoyed
- 6 cheering for the Aggies and the Houston Astros, and he also took
- 7 pleasure in golfing, hunting, and spending time with his loved
- 8 ones; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A devoted family man and an engaged citizen, Joe
- 10 Burttschell is deeply missed, but the humility, optimism, and
- 11 kindness with which he lived his life will forever inspire all who
- 12 had the good fortune to know him; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Joe Burttschell and
- 15 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,
- 16 Alice Burttschell; to his sons, Bill Burttschell and his wife,
- 17 Karen, and John Burttschell; to his daughter, Kathy Gregg, and her
- 18 husband, Joe; to his eight grandchildren and eight
- 19 great-grandchildren; and to his other relatives and many friends;
- 20 and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- 23 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Joe
- 24 Burttschell.

Kolkhorst

H.R. No. 673

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 6/3
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 673 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on March 19, 2013.	

Chief Clerk of the House