RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Garland Chamber of Commerce are 2 visiting the State Capitol on March 5, 2013, and this occasion 3 provides a welcome opportunity to pay tribute to this outstanding 4 community organization and the city it serves; and

5 WHEREAS, For more than 115 years, the Garland chamber has worked to ensure the economic vitality of Garland; when the city 6 needed to broaden its economic base beyond agriculture in the 7 mid-20th century, the chamber recruited a variety of companies that 8 have since expanded to become such world-famous enterprises as 9 General Dynamics Corporation, Raytheon Company, Hatco Corporation, 10 and Kraft Foods Group, Inc., and KARLEE and Garrett Metal 11 12 Detectors, which grew from shops in garages to internationally renowned industry leaders, are among the nearly 400 manufacturing 13 14 enterprises located in Garland today; and

15 WHEREAS, The Garland chamber is the creator of a variety of programs to support small businesses, manufacturing companies, 16 retail firms, and the local education system, acting on the 17 principle that success in each of these areas depends on success in 18 all of them; the chamber is the founder of the BEST Education 19 Foundation and the first chamber of commerce to host an office of 20 21 the Small Business Development Center, and it has actively participated in the development of the Dallas County Manufacturers' 22 23 Association, the Women's Business E-nitiative, and Leadership 24 Garland; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Garland has become the fifth largest city in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex and one of the fastest growing regions 2 3 in the nation, home to more than 236,000 residents and rated in the top 100 best places in the country in which to live by CNN and Money 4 5 magazine in 2008; the chamber is an essential member of the Garland Economic Development Partnership, which has been responsible for 6 the creation and retention of 19,000 jobs and a \$1.5 billion tax 7 8 base in the city; and

9 WHEREAS, Operating under the acronym PRIDE, for Passion, 10 Respect, Integrity, Discipline, and Excellence, the Garland 11 Chamber of Commerce has been a dynamic and inspiring "connecting 12 source" in its community, and it is indeed deserving of recognition 13 for the vital role it has played in this Lone Star success story; 14 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 5, 2013, as Garland Chamber of Commerce Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit to Austin.

> Button Burkett

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 676 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House