H.R. No. 700

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Hewitt are gathering in Austin on
- 2 March 5, 2013, to celebrate Hewitt Day at the State Capitol; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Hewitt was first established in 1882 as a station on
- 4 the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad; in 1893, John Allison
- 5 Warren bought the township around the station and named it after
- 6 George A. Hewitt, a director of the Katy Railroad; he named the
- 7 town's first street Warren, and the second street Johnson, his
- 8 wife's maiden name; and
- 9 WHEREAS, For years, Hewitt was a thriving farming community;
- 10 area residents raised cattle and grew corn and cotton on the rich
- 11 Blackland Prairie; crops were then shipped to market by rail or
- 12 wagon from Hewitt; and
- WHEREAS, The town was incorporated in 1960, and began to grow
- 14 as people who worked in nearby Waco bought homes there; during the
- 15 1980s, Hewitt was the fastest-growing town in McLennan County, and
- 16 it remains the second-largest community in the county, with a
- 17 current population of nearly 14,000; and
- WHEREAS, Today, Hewitt continues to grow and thrive; in 2009,
- 19 it was named one of the top 100 places to live in the United States
- 20 by Money magazine, recognized for its economic opportunity, good
- 21 schools, safe streets, and affordable homes; and
- WHEREAS, Celebrating their past even as they look forward to
- 23 a bright future, the people of Hewitt may take great pride in the
- 24 charm and vitality of their unique community, where they enjoy

H.R. No. 700

- 1 "Life Just Right"; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 5, 2013, as Hewitt Day at the
- 4 State Capitol and extend to the delegation sincere best wishes for a
- 5 memorable and enjoyable visit to Austin.

Anderson

H.R. No. 700

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 700
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 7	700 was adopted by the House on March 5,
2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House