H.R. No. 701

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The people of the Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas
- 2 lost one of their most esteemed leaders with the death of Chief
- 3 Oscola Clayton Marion Sylestine on January 31, 2013, at the age of
- 4 80; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A third-generation descendant of Alabama-Coushatta
- 6 Sub-Chief Colabe, Clayton Marion Sylestine was born in 1932; he was
- 7 renamed "Mikko Oscola," meaning flute, in 1993 while serving as
- 8 second chief, and he was subsequently elected to the lifelong
- 9 office of principal chief by a unanimous vote; he ably fulfilled the
- 10 myriad duties of this pivotal role from his inauguration on January
- 11 1, 1995, until his passing; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Chief Oscola previously volunteered his noted
- 13 leadership skills as an elected member of the Tribal Council for
- 14 five terms, including one as chairman, and he served as an elder in
- 15 the Indian Village Presbyterian Church; moreover, he worked
- 16 diligently to share the rich history and traditions of his culture
- 17 by speaking in local schools and making public appearances on
- 18 behalf of his tribe; he also advocated for federal recognition of
- 19 the tribe, which was reinstated in 1987; and
- WHEREAS, Retired from Champion Paper International, where he
- 21 worked for 17 years, Chief Oscola pursued a number of traditional
- 22 crafts; he was a master of river cane basketry, which involved
- 23 harvesting and splitting bamboo-like cane and arranging it into
- 24 basket form, and he further distinguished himself in longleaf pine

H.R. No. 701

- 1 needle basketry; in addition, he played for more than 30 years in
- 2 the fast-pitch softball circuit, earning a reputation for his
- 3 rising fastball; and
- WHEREAS, Deeply devoted to his community, Chief Oscola made a
- 5 meaningful difference in the lives of his loved ones and fellow
- 6 citizens alike, and his contributions to the Alabama-Coushatta
- 7 Tribe of Texas will continue to resonate for years to come; now,
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Chief Oscola
- 11 Clayton Marion Sylestine and extend sincere sympathy to the members
- 12 of his family: to his wife, Ethelyn; to his two sons and two
- 13 daughters; to his many grandchildren; and to his other relatives
- 14 and friends; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 17 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Chief
- 18 Oscola Clayton Marion Sylestine.

White Thompson of Harris

## H.R. No. 701

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White
Frank	Moody	Vo Walle
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 701
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 701 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
ote of the House on March 7, 2013.	
	Chief Clerk of the House