RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The national service program AmeriCorps has proven
- 2 to be a highly effective way to engage Americans in a lifetime of
- 3 volunteerism while meeting a wide range of local and national
- 4 needs; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Since its inception in 1994, nearly 775,000 citizens
- 6 across the country and some 40,000 in Texas have taken the
- 7 AmeriCorps pledge to "get things done"; of the 80,000 individuals
- 8 serving in 2012, 3,265 were Texans; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Over the years, AmeriCorps Texas members have
- 10 accumulated more than 51 million hours in service, tutoring and
- 11 mentoring disadvantaged youth, fighting illiteracy, improving
- 12 health services, building affordable housing, teaching computer
- 13 skills, cleaning parks and streams, managing and operating
- 14 after-school programs, helping communities recover from disasters,
- 15 and supporting veterans and military families; and
- WHEREAS, Working with over 2,200 nonprofit, community,
- 17 educational, and faith-based groups across the Lone Star State,
- 18 AmeriCorps Texas participants have earned more than \$103 million in
- 19 Segal AmeriCorps Education Awards to help afford college or pay
- 20 back student loans; and
- 21 WHEREAS, AmeriCorps Week 2013, observed March 9-17, is an
- 22 opportune time to salute current and former AmeriCorps Texas
- 23 members for their tremendous contributions, to thank AmeriCorps
- 24 Texas community partners, and to encourage Texans to consider

- 1 serving in this outstanding program; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 9-17, 2013, as AmeriCorps Week
- 4 and extend sincere appreciation to members of AmeriCorps Texas for
- 5 their significant efforts in behalf of the state.

Naishtat

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Burkett Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Smith Larson Darby Laubenberg Smithee Davis of Dallas Springer Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

 			 	 	_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 720 was adopted by the House on March 11, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House