H.R. No. 754

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The East Bernard High School football team won the
- 2 2012 University Interscholastic League 2A Division 2 state
- 3 championship with a victory in the title game held on December 20,
- 4 2012, at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Matching up against Mildred High School of
- 6 Corsicana, the Brahmas excelled with an outstanding team effort;
- 7 three players rushed for more than 100 yards, and four players
- 8 scored touchdowns as East Bernard put points on the board in eight
- 9 of its first nine drives; meanwhile, the defense tallied six sacks
- 10 and shut down the Mildred offense for most of the game en route to a
- 11 commanding 56-14 win; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The triumph in the state final capped a remarkable
- 13 season in which the Brahmas went undefeated for the first time in
- 14 school history; along the way, they posted numerous shutouts and
- 15 toppled highly regarded foes such as defending state champion
- 16 Refugio, their opponent in the playoff quarterfinals; and
- WHEREAS, Ably guided by head coach Jerry Long and his staff,
- 18 the Brahmas also benefited from the strong support of their
- 19 classmates and the entire East Bernard community; in attaining
- 20 their season-long goal of winning the state crown, these determined
- 21 young athletes have become a source of great pride to their fans,
- 22 and their exceptional performance on the gridiron in 2012 will long
- 23 be remembered and celebrated; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 754

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the East Bernard High School
- 2 football team on winning the UIL 2A Division 2 state championship
- 3 and extend sincere best wishes to the team's players, coaches, and
- 4 staff for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Zerwas Stephenson

H.R. No. 754

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado		Paddie
Anchia	Guerra	Parker
<u></u>	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Hemphill King of Parker	Rose
Coleman		Sanford
	King of Taylor	Schaefer
Collier	King of Zavala	
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	zedler
Gonzales		
GOIIZATES	Nevarez	Zerwas

									H.R.	No.	754
						_					
							Spe	eaker o	f the Ho	ouse	
	I certi	fy that	H.R.	No.	754	was	adopted	by the	House	on M	arch
20, 20	013, by a	non-rec	ord v	ote.							
						_					

Chief Clerk of the House