H.R. No. 773

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Kilgore Police Department has achieved
 Recognized status in the Texas Best Practices Recognition Program;
 and

WHEREAS, Created in 2006 and overseen by the Texas Police 4 Chiefs Association Foundation, the program consists of 164 Texas 5 law enforcement best practices developed by chiefs of police and 6 command-level officers from across the state; agencies work on a 7 voluntary basis to comply with a range of standards related to their 8 9 operations, from property and evidence management to the protection of citizens' rights, and ultimately undergo an on-site audit and 10 11 review; and

WHEREAS, The Kilgore Police Department spent two years steadily adopting and implementing the recommended best practices, and under the leadership of Chief Todd Hunter, KPD became the 77th law enforcement agency to earn recognition from the program; among the benefits associated with the designation are improved recruitment and grant eligibility; and

WHEREAS, The entire Kilgore police force has demonstrated exceptional diligence and professionalism in meeting the Texas Police Chiefs Association Foundation best practices, and its members can take great pride in this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
 Legislature hereby congratulate the Kilgore Police Department on

1

H.R. No. 773
1 achieving Recognized status in the Texas Best Practices Recognition
2 Program and extend to all those affiliated with KPD sincere best
3 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the department as an expression of high regard by the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Simpson

H.R. No. 773

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 773

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 773 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House