H.R. No. 775

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Center for Education Policy at The 2 University of Texas at Austin is hosting Fellows from the Bowen 3 Institute for Policy Studies in Higher Education at Claremont 4 Graduate University in California at the State Capitol on March 5 11-12, 2013; and

6 WHEREAS, The Bowen Institute promotes scholarly research in 7 the area of higher education, particularly the study of relevant public and institutional policies; each year, the institute selects 8 9 a group of Fellows to participate in a series of events that enable them to engage with policymakers and discuss the most pressing 10 11 issues of the day in higher education; the Texas Center for 12 Education Policy at The University of Texas at Austin was selected as a 2013 host for the group in recognition of its groundbreaking 13 14 work in promoting equity and excellence in public and higher education; and 15

16 WHEREAS, During their visit to the Capitol, the Bowen Fellows 17 will receive a historical overview of education in Texas and hear 18 presentations on ongoing policy deliberations; they will also meet 19 with current and former legislators, civil rights advocates, and 20 scholars; following these discussions, they will work with TCEP to 21 create a scholarly report detailing their findings; and

WHEREAS, Innovative and effective higher education policies are essential to meeting the demands of the 21st century, and the Bowen Institute and the Texas Center for Education Policy are

1

H.R. No. 775 1 demonstrating commendable initiative by participating in this 2 worthy endeavor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby welcome the Bowen Institute for Policy Studies in Higher Education Fellows to the State Capitol and commend the Texas Center for Education Policy at The University of Texas at Austin for hosting their visit.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 775

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 775

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 775 was adopted by the House on March 11, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House