RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For 10 years, Christopher J. Durovich has 2 distinguished himself in his work as president and chief executive
- 3 officer of Children's Medical Center Dallas, and his influential
- 4 leadership in pediatric health care was recently recognized with
- 5 his election as chair of the Children's Hospital Association Board
- 6 of Trustees; and
- WHEREAS, Possessing more than three decades of experience in
- 8 medical administration, Mr. Durovich held senior positions at The
- 9 University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center and Baylor College
- 10 of Medicine before joining CMC Dallas in 2003; his knowledge has
- 11 benefited a number of professional organizations as well, including
- 12 the American Hospital Association, where he is a member of the board
- 13 of trustees and the executive committee; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Under Mr. Durovich's leadership, CMC Dallas has
- 15 become the fifth-largest pediatric health care provider in the
- 16 country, seeing 200,000 young people a year; the hospital is ranked
- 17 by U.S. News & World Report in all 10 of the publication's rated
- 18 specialties for 2012-2013, and it is the only children's facility
- 19 in the nation to achieve seven disease-specific certifications from
- 20 The Joint Commission; in addition, its quality nursing staff has
- 21 earned the approval of the American Nurses Credentialing Center
- 22 Magnet Recognition Program; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Durovich has placed a special emphasis on
- 24 research, and as part of that effort, CMC Dallas joined with The

- 1 University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center to found the
- 2 Children's Medical Center Research Institute; another important
- 3 investigative initiative is the annual Beyond ABC report published
- 4 by CMC Dallas, which provides comprehensive data on the wellness of
- 5 children in six North Texas counties; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2013, the
- 7 medical center is also an important source of jobs and business
- 8 activity in the region; it employs some 5,600 individuals and a
- 9 medical and dental staff of more than 1,000, and it has a total
- 10 economic impact of approximately \$1.6 billion per year; moreover,
- 11 because the center welcomes all children regardless of a family's
- 12 ability to pay and without tax support from the city or county, it
- 13 provided \$140 million in community benefits in 2011; the center's
- 14 network of pediatric primary-care offices in underserved areas
- 15 allowed nearly 100,000 children to receive vital treatment in their
- 16 own neighborhoods during 2012; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The expertise Mr. Durovich has gained at CMC Dallas
- 18 will serve him well in his new role with the Children's Hospital
- 19 Association; formerly the vice chair of the organization's
- 20 13-member board, he will now play an even greater role in guiding
- 21 the CHA, which represents over 220 medical centers across the
- 22 country that specialize in treating young patients; and
- WHEREAS, Chris Durovich has helped to build Children's
- 24 Medical Center Dallas into a national leader in its field, and he
- 25 truly merits special recognition and praise for his
- 26 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby commend Christopher J. Durovich on his
- 2 exemplary tenure as president and CEO of Children's Medical Center
- 3 Dallas and congratulate him on his election as chair of the
- 4 Children's Hospital Association Board of Trustees; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Durovich as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Anchia

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 783 was adopted by the House on March 13, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House