By: Springer

H.R. No. 787

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year, Gainesville hosts the nation's Medal of 2 Honor recipients in an event designed to recognize and thank those 3 courageous Americans who have served so valiantly in the United 4 States armed forces; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 2001 with a goal of providing local 6 residents a personal connection with American history, the 7 military, and veterans, Gainesville's Medal of Honor Host City 8 Program pays tribute to those who have achieved the highest 9 military distinction in the country; Gainesville citizens join 10 together to fund the travel costs and expenses and to welcome their 11 guests during several days of events; and

12 WHEREAS, This program provides a unique opportunity for Gainesville residents of all ages to meet and talk to national 13 14 heroes and to draw inspiration from their motivating acts of patriotism; the only such event of its kind in the nation, the Medal 15 16 of Honor Host City Program encourages people to come back to Gainesville year after year and continues to grow as new medal 17 recipients are invited; because of this and other displays of 18 national pride, USA Today and Rand McNally recognized Gainesville 19 20 as the most patriotic small town in the United States; and

21 WHEREAS, From April 10 to April 13, 2013, Gainesville 22 residents are again volunteering their time and resources to 23 demonstrate their deep appreciation for those brave service members 24 who have gone above and beyond the call of duty, and this excellent

1

1 example of patriotism is truly deserving of the highest praise; 2 now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 787

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby commend Gainesville on its outstanding Medal of Honor Host City Program and extend to all those associated with the program sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the city of Gainesville as an expression of high regard
by the Texas House of Representatives.

2