RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Cypress Ranch High School baseball team captured
- 2 the University Interscholastic League 5A state title on June 9,
- 3 2012, reaching the pinnacle of success in its first appearance in
- 4 the playoffs; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Matching up against College Station A&M
- 6 Consolidated High School in the title game at Dell Diamond in Round
- 7 Rock, the Mustangs scored two quick runs in the first inning and
- 8 then relied on pitchers Zach Brosch and Jonathan Whitley to hold the
- 9 lead; sophomore center fielder Corbin Martin belted a home run en
- 10 route to the team's 4-1 triumph, and he was named the state
- 11 tournament 5A Most Valuable Player; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The championship victory closed out a magnificent
- 13 19-game winning streak that carried Cypress Ranch to a 32-8 record
- 14 for the season; during that impressive run, the stellar pitching
- 15 staff notched seven shutouts, and Mustang batters outscored their
- 16 opponents by nearly 100 runs; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Skillfully guided by head coach John Pope and
- 18 assistant coaches Charles Hoffman, Scott Platteter, and Kip
- 19 Pridgeon, the Mustangs received valuable contributions throughout
- 20 the season from each member of the roster; in addition to Mr.
- 21 Brosch, Mr. Whitley, and Mr. Martin, the team included Leon Byrd,
- 22 Dalton Lemoine, Austin Strickland, Ryan Allbright, Dalton Stark,
- 23 Hunter Kliafas, Bryce Stark, Hernan Herrera, Zach Bragg, Chase
- 24 Spears, Tyler DeLeon, Grant Slaughter, Kory Hornberger, Justin

- 1 Monsour, Derek Dickerson, Bryce Johnson, Zach Smith, Spencer
- 2 Sloane, and Ryan Leftwich; and
- 3 WHEREAS, By dedicating themselves to excellence and putting
- 4 in many hours of hard work, the Cypress Ranch Mustangs earned a
- 5 place alongside the finest teams in Texas, and their
- 6 accomplishments are a source of pride for their many supporters in
- 7 the community; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cypress Ranch High School
- 10 baseball team on winning the 2011-2012 UIL 5A state championship
- 11 and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 12 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for the Cypress High School baseball team as an expression
- 15 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Callegari Fletcher Harless

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 798 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House