H.R. No. 807

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud members of the Austin Metroplex Chapter of
- 2 National Women of Achievement, Inc., are celebrating their
- 3 organization's 25th anniversary during 2013; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The National Women of Achievement is an organization
- 5 in which women from various professional fields come together to
- 6 work for the betterment of their community, the local youth, and the
- 7 country; connecting with the national group's principles of
- 8 service, leadership, and empowerment, charter members of the Austin
- 9 Metroplex Chapter held their first meeting at the Carver Branch
- 10 Library on May 12, 1988; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Over the years, the organization has benefited from
- 12 the dedicated leadership of three chapter presidents, Barbara
- 13 Foreman, Arlene L. Youngblood, and Andrea Costley, who carries on
- 14 this notable tradition of service today; and
- WHEREAS, The Austin branch now engages in a variety of
- 16 commendable initiatives such as awarding scholarships to deserving
- 17 Huston-Tillotson University students and "adopting" a family or
- 18 senior citizen during Thanksgiving and Christmas; members
- 19 volunteer to serve meals to the homeless, work with the Youth
- 20 Brigade for The Villager newspaper, and participate in health
- 21 fairs; moreover, the chapter partners with local organizations,
- 22 including the National Council of Negro Women--Austin Section and
- 23 Historically Black Colleges and Universities to promote the Black
- 24 History Bowl and the United Negro College Fund; and

H.R. No. 807

Dukes

- WHEREAS, In addition to these worthy civic endeavors, the organization recognizes and supports African American women in all stages of their careers; the Connie Yerwood Connor Profiles of Prominence honor African American women who have made important contributions to their professional field and the Austin community; in 2008, an associated Junior Achiever Chapter met for the first time, and the Austin organization continues to encourage its junior members; and
- 9 WHEREAS, For the past quarter-century, members of the Austin
  10 Metroplex Chapter of National Women of Achievement have performed
  11 works of lasting benefit to the local community and beyond, and the
  12 group's noteworthy accomplishments are a tribute to the dedication
  13 of its members, both past and present; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

  Legislature hereby honor the Austin Metroplex Chapter of National

  Women of Achievement, Inc., on the occasion of its 25th anniversary

  and extend sincere best wishes to its members for continued

  success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

-

## H.R. No. 807

Gladings Murphy wu Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas	Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr.	Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
	Geren Giddings	Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Workman Wu

										H.R.	No.	807
							_		<del>, ,</del>			
								Spe	eaker	of the Ho	ouse	
	<del>-</del>		L1 L	11 D	NT -	007		. ] ]	1 1-1		1/	1.
	Τ	certify	tnat	н.к.	NO.	807	was	adopted	by tr	ne House	on M	ıarcn
20,	2013	, by a no	n-rec	ord v	ote.							
							_					

Chief Clerk of the House