## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Derrick Howard concluded five years of outstanding
service with the CPS Energy Board of Trustees on February 1, 2013;
and

WHEREAS, Mr. Howard joined the utility's governing board in 2008, representing San Antonio's southeast quadrant; named vice chair the following year, he went on to oversee the group as chair, and thanks in part to his able leadership, CPS Energy maintains one of the highest financial ratings of any combined electric and gas municipally owned utility; and

10 WHEREAS, In addition to working to secure reasonable rates 11 for customers, Mr. Howard has encouraged partnerships with clean 12 technology companies and the use of renewable energy; and

13 WHEREAS, This notable Texan has also distinguished himself 14 professionally; following his graduation from Prairie View A&M University, he worked for Victoria Savings Association and the City 15 16 of San Antonio Department of Housing and Community Development; currently, he serves as executive director of the Bexar County 17 Community Arenas board, and his work played a vital role in the 18 successful negotiations with the San Antonio Spurs and the 19 20 construction of the AT&T Center; and

21 WHEREAS, A valued member of the San Antonio community since 22 1989, Mr. Howard has shared his time with the foundation board of 23 the San Antonio Independent School District and executive board of 24 the Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce; he has further

1

contributed to school mentoring programs and to such worthwhile
initiatives as Morningside Ministries, City Year San Antonio, the
Palmer Drug Abuse Program, and San Antonio Goodwill Industries; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure with the CPS Energy Board of Trustees, Derrick Howard has helped to ensure the quality and reliability of San Antonio's municipal utility systems, and it is a pleasure to join in recognizing him for his many contributions; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 10 Legislature hereby honor Derrick Howard for his work as chair of the 11 CPS Energy Board and extend to him sincere best wishes for the 12 future; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for Mr. Howard as an expression of high regard by the Texas 15 House of Representatives.

## Larson

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 818 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House