RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Christopher S. Scott of Carrollton was named a 2012
- 2 Texan of the Year by The Dallas Morning News in recognition of his
- 3 tireless efforts in behalf of those who have been wrongfully
- 4 convicted; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1997, Mr. Scott was himself the victim of an
- 6 erroneous eyewitness identification, the most common cause of false
- 7 convictions; he served more than 12 years of a life sentence before
- 8 he was exonerated; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Scott, a business owner and father of two, has
- 10 now dedicated himself to assisting prisoners with compelling claims
- 11 of innocence; he founded a nonprofit organization, House of Renewed
- 12 Hope, and obtained a private investigator's license to facilitate
- 13 obtaining court records and visiting inmates; working with a team
- 14 of fellow exonerees, he not only pursues cases but also engages in
- 15 public education, raises funds for services such as DNA testing,
- 16 and strongly advocates for reform of the criminal justice system;
- 17 in addition, his organization reaches out to newly released
- 18 exonerees, offering support for the transition to a new life; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through his selfless endeavors, Christopher Scott
- 20 is providing hope to the wrongfully incarcerated and advancing the
- 21 cause of social justice, and he is an inspiration to all who know
- 22 him; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Christopher S. Scott on his

- 1 selection as a 2012 Texan of the Year by The Dallas Morning News and
- 2 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success with his
- 3 important work; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Scott as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Ratliff

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 822 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House