H.R. No. 842

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Lorena High School students Josh King, Levi Golding,
- 2 Austin Hill, Callie Jackson, and Janelle King performed in the
- 3 Association of Texas Small School Bands Region 8 Concert on January
- 4 19, 2013; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Texas Music Educators Association
- 6 and the Association of Texas Small School Bands, the All-Region
- 7 Band program brings together talented young musicians from across
- 8 east central Texas; during the all-region clinic and concert event,
- 9 participants practice with their peers in intensive rehearsal
- 10 sessions in the morning and present their final performance in the
- 11 evening; and
- 12 WHEREAS, To qualify for the program, Mr. King, a
- 13 percussionist, Mr. Golding, a bass clarinetist, Mr. Hill, a
- 14 trumpeter, Ms. Jackson, a clarinetist, and Ms. King, a trombonist,
- 15 carefully prepared audition pieces under the guidance of Lorena
- 16 band directors Marcus Bryant and Damon Vela; the students were
- 17 chosen by regional judges for their outstanding command of the
- 18 music, and Mr. King and Mr. Golding have been selected to perform in
- 19 the ATSSB All-State Band; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Through hard work and many hours of practice, these
- 21 five Lorena High student musicians have demonstrated exceptional
- 22 ability and a commitment to excellence, and they can take
- 23 justifiable pride in their achievements; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 842

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Josh King, Levi Golding, Austin
- 2 Hill, Callie Jackson, and Janelle King on their selection to the
- 3 ATSSB All-Region 8 Clinic and Concert and extend to them sincere
- 4 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for these students as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson

TT	-	3. T	842
н	ν	NO	842

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 842 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House