H.R. No. 859

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Two Corpus Christi-area chapters of the American GI
- 2 Forum hosted a scholarship reception on January 17, 2013, the
- 3 anniversary of the birth of the organization's founder, Dr. Hector
- 4 P. Garcia; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Dr. Garcia, a World War II veteran and civil rights
- 6 activist, established the American GI Forum in 1948 in Corpus
- 7 Christi to secure equal benefits for Mexican American veterans; the
- 8 organization has since broadened its mission to address other
- 9 veteran concerns and to promote greater educational opportunities;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, First held in 1996, the annual Corpus Christi
- 12 scholarship reception was initiated by Dr. Garcia's brother,
- 13 Dr. Xico P. Garcia, who was also remembered at this year's event;
- 14 the banquet was sponsored by two area chapters of the American GI
- 15 Forum, the Dr. Hector P. Garcia Founding Chapter and the Robstown
- 16 Beatrice T. Perez Women's Chapter; and
- WHEREAS, Awarded \$1,000 scholarships were deserving veterans
- 18 Jose Ayala, Amando Vidal, Jr., and James Green; in addition, Martin
- 19 Middle School in Corpus Christi received a grant, and the sponsor of
- 20 the event, the H-E-B grocery chain, was also recognized; and
- 21 WHEREAS, For 65 years, members of the American GI Forum have
- 22 remained committed to championing education and equal rights, and
- 23 it is a pleasure to recognize all those who showed their support of
- 24 the organization's important work by attending the Corpus Christi

H.R. No. 859

- 1 event; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2013 American GI Forum
- 4 scholarship reception in Corpus Christi and commend the members of
- 5 the Dr. Hector P. Garcia and Beatrice T. Perez Robstown Women's
- 6 Chapters as well as this year's honorees for their achievements.

Herrero

TT	Γ	TAT -	259
н	R	$N \cap$	× 5 9

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 859 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House