H.R. No. 877

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The First National Bank in Hebbronville is
- 2 celebrating its centennial in 2013; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Established on May 23, 1913, as the Hebbronville
- 4 State Bank, the institution was originally located on a site on
- 5 Texas Avenue donated by Oscar Thompson, a founding director; it was
- 6 chartered on July 23 of that year with paid-in capital of \$25,000;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, A new building was constructed on Galbraith Street
- 9 in 1924, and two years later the bank adopted its present-day name;
- 10 it opened its first drive-up window in 1973, and a little more than
- 11 a decade later, it moved to its current location on Smith Street;
- 12 and
- WHEREAS, Led by president and chief executive officer Israel
- 14 Hinojosa, the bank today has over \$138 million in assets, and it
- 15 employs 9 officers and 15 other staff members; for 96 consecutive
- 16 quarters, it has earned a five-star rating from BauerFinancial,
- 17 Inc., which places it among the elite group of Sustained
- 18 Superiority Banks, a distinction held by only three percent of the
- 19 nation's banking institutions; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Businesses that employ Texans and contribute to
- 21 local economies are important components of a prosperous future,
- 22 and for the past century, First National Bank has played an
- 23 essential role in the Hebbronville community; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 877

- 1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the First
- 2 National Bank in Hebbronville and extend to all those associated
- 3 with the institution sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the bank as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 877

											H.R.	No	. 877
							_						
			Speaker of the House										
	I	certify	that	H.R.	No.	877	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	March
19, 2013, by a non-record vote.													

Chief Clerk of the House