RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Harrison County are gathering to

2 celebrate Harrison County Day at the State Capitol on March 21,

3 2013; and

5

4 WHEREAS, Situated among the rolling piney woods of East

Texas, Harrison County was first inhabited by the Caddo people, and

6 large numbers of non-Native American settlers began to arrive in

7 the 1830s; the county was established by the Republic of Texas in

8 1839 and named after Texas revolutionary leader Jonas Harrison; and

9 WHEREAS, The city of Marshall, founded in 1841, became the

10 county seat the following year; at the time of the Civil War, it was

11 one of the most populous and prosperous cities in the state, and it

12 produced a large amount of saddles, clothing, gunpowder, and

13 ammunition for the Confederate Army; and

14 WHEREAS, Cotton was the basis for the county's economy for

15 many years and continued to be important well into the 20th century;

16 in addition, the red and white clay soils of the region are

17 excellent for stoneware, and the county is home to numerous pottery

18 companies, including Marshall Pottery, which was established in

19 1896 and remains one of the largest manufacturers of red clay pots

20 in the nation; the area's diverse economy is further enhanced by the

21 lumber industry, oil and gas production, manufacturing, and

22 ranching and farming; and

23 WHEREAS, Outdoor enthusiasts may take advantage of the fine

24 opportunities for camping, hiking, fishing, and boating at Caddo

- 1 Lake State Park, home of the only natural lake in Texas, while those
- 2 interested in the county's past can appreciate the revitalized
- 3 downtown Marshall, which benefited from the Main Street Program and
- 4 other initiatives of the Texas Historical Commission; the 1901
- 5 County Courthouse and the Texas and Pacific Railway Museum and
- 6 Depot have been restored, and the nearby Ginocchio National
- 7 Historic District preserves several other fine examples of early
- 8 Texas architecture; additionally, the Starr Family Home State
- 9 Historic Site showcases a family that was a major contributor to the
- 10 growth of the railroad and cotton industries and the settling of the
- 11 frontier of Texas in the late 1800s; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The educational needs of Harrison County are met by
- 13 such fine institutions as Wiley College, East Texas Baptist
- 14 University, and Texas State Technical College; those schools'
- 15 cultural offerings are supplemented by the Michelson Museum of Art,
- 16 which features work by several important early 20th century
- 17 artists; and
- WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the county's
- 19 colorful annual festivals, including the FireAnt Festival and
- 20 Western Days in October and the yearly Wonderland of Lights, which
- 21 is held in Marshall during the holiday season and draws visitors
- 22 from all 50 states and around the world; and
- WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich heritage as they work toward
- 24 a bright tomorrow, the citizens of Harrison County may indeed take
- 25 great pride in their unique contribution to the history and culture
- 26 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize March 21, 2013, as Harrison County Day
- 2 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 3 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Paddie

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 890 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House