RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives takes pride in
- 2 its public educators, who provide an invaluable service to the
- 3 people of the State of Texas; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Texas Retired Teachers Association represents
- 5 retired public school and higher education employees; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The members of this notable group continually strive
- 7 to improve their local communities throughout the state, and in
- 8 2012 they donated more than 5.9 million hours of their time as
- 9 volunteers, equivalent to a value of more than \$130 million; to
- 10 promote literacy and lifelong learning, they have provided over
- 11 600,000 books to children through the Children's Book Project,
- 12 including 145,433 in 2012; and
- WHEREAS, Conscious of the effect their health has on the
- 14 world around them, members of the association work to preserve the
- 15 TRS-Care benefits program by reducing doctor visits through the
- 16 Walks-A-Million Program, collectively taking over 24 billion steps
- 17 toward greater wellness in 2012; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Retiree annuity payments from the Teacher
- 19 Retirement System of Texas have exceeded \$7 billion, directly
- 20 creating 98,900 jobs in the Lone Star State; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The Texas Retired Teachers Association and its
- 22 nearly 80,000 members are working diligently to protect current and
- 23 future public education retirees; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize March 18 through 22, 2013, as Texas
- 2 Retired Teachers Week; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Keffer Howard Alonzo Ratliff King of Taylor

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White
Frank	Moody	Vo Walle
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 892 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House