## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Boy Scouts of America Troop No. 7 in Grapevine is
- 2 celebrating the 100th anniversary of its founding on May 11, 2013;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, The scouting movement has been preparing young men
- 5 to become leaders since Sir Robert Baden-Powell founded the
- 6 movement in Great Britain in 1908; American businessman William
- 7 D. Boyce organized the Boy Scouts of America in 1910 after a scout
- 8 in London refused an offer of payment for helping him, remarking to
- 9 Mr. Boyce that he was required to do a good deed each day; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 1913, the mayor of Grapevine, Benjamin Richard
- 11 Wall, brought the No. 7 Boy Scout Unit Charter back from New York,
- 12 establishing it as one of the oldest scout groups in Texas and the
- 13 region west of the Mississippi; not even World War I could diminish
- 14 the enthusiasm of this group of young men, who continued to meet and
- 15 camp every Friday night even though most of their fathers were
- 16 fighting overseas; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Mayor Wall remained involved with the troop until
- 18 1954, and through the years it has been supported by a number of
- 19 local organizations, including the Grapevine Business Men's
- 20 League, the Grapevine City Council, the Grapevine Lions Club, and
- 21 St. Laurence Episcopal Church; today, this scouting crew is
- 22 sponsored by St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church; and
- WHEREAS, Under the leadership of scoutmaster and Eagle Scout
- 24 Don Blan, the troop currently counts over 50 scouts among its

- 1 members; moreover, Troop No. 7 has produced 98 Eagle Scouts and has
- 2 participated in myriad service projects such as flag ceremonies on
- 3 Memorial Day and numerous activities performed in behalf of
- 4 schools, municipalities, and other organizations; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Still going strong in the 21st century, Boy Scout
- 6 Troop No. 7 has for 100 years made a significant difference in the
- 7 lives of countless young Texans while contributing to the
- 8 betterment of Grapevine, Tarrant County, and beyond, and it is
- 9 indeed a pleasure to join in recognizing this momentous milestone
- 10 in the group's rich history; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Boy Scouts of America Troop No. 7
- 13 of Grapevine on the 100th anniversary of its founding and commend
- 14 its members and leaders, past and present, and all those who have
- 15 worked to support this fine organization during its 10 decades of
- 16 service to the community; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Boy Scouts of America Troop No. 7 as an expression of
- 19 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Capriglione

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

\_\_\_\_\_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 923 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House