## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Mexia High School girls' basketball team reached
- 2 the pinnacle of success by capturing the University Interscholastic
- 3 League 3A state championship on March 2, 2013, with a victory in the
- 4 title game at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Finishing with a record of 36 wins and just 3
- 6 defeats, the Ladycats made a thrilling run through the playoffs,
- 7 during which they defeated Jasper, Madisonville, Waco La Vega,
- 8 Buna, Fairfield, and Krum High Schools to earn their place in the
- 9 state tournament final; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Matching up against Kennedale High School with the
- 11 championship on the line, the Mexia players demonstrated great
- 12 composure and perseverance; the team fell behind in both the first
- 13 half and second half but was able to rally each time and close the
- 14 gap; the score stood tied with six minutes to play, but the Ladycats
- 15 took control with clutch performances down the stretch to claim a
- 16 69-62 victory and the school's first state crown in girls'
- 17 basketball; and
- WHEREAS, Na'Teshia Owens was named the championship game Most
- 19 Valuable Player after scoring 23 points and hauling down eight
- 20 rebounds, while Brechelle Beachum added 14 points and joined
- 21 Ms. Owens as an All-Tournament honoree; excelling with a true team
- 22 effort, the Ladycats also received significant contributions
- 23 throughout the season from the other members of the roster: Ariel
- 24 Ballard, Yazmine Gamble, Kendal Gipson, Gee Greer, Amy Johnson,

- 1 Ashley Johnson, Brandi Jones, Que'Shea King, Tiara Ray, Mariyah
- 2 Wiley, Breana Stoner, and Taylor Porter; and
- 3 WHEREAS, These dedicated athletes were ably guided by head
- 4 coach Randy Barger and assistant coaches Carlos Daniels and Britney
- 5 Collins; additional support was provided by athletic director
- 6 Lamont Chambers, principal Larry Adair, assistant principal Walter
- 7 Smith, superintendent Donna Savage, athletic trainer Chris Parks,
- 8 managers Aliyah Ransom and Y'keisha Stevenson, and videographer
- 9 Skilan Gamble; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of
- 11 countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to
- 12 excellence, and the Ladycat players, their fellow classmates, and
- 13 their many supporters in the community will treasure the memory of
- 14 this outstanding accomplishment for many years to come; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate the Mexia High School girls'
- 18 basketball team on winning the UIL 3A state championship and extend
- 19 to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 20 continued success; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Kacal

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 939 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House