H.R. No. 948

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Brazoria County are gathering in
- 2 Austin to celebrate Brazoria County Day at the State Capitol on
- 3 March 19, 2013; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This section of coastal prairie along the Brazos
- 5 River was inhabited during the first three centuries of Texas'
- 6 recorded history by the nomadic Karankawa Indians; the Spanish
- 7 explorer Cabeza de Vaca passed through the region as early as 1528,
- 8 and the pirate Jean Lafitte was rumored to have used the mouth of
- 9 the Brazos as a refuge; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The region was settled in the 1820s by members of
- 11 Stephen F. Austin's Old Three Hundred; Henry Smith of Brazoria
- 12 served as the first American-born governor of the Mexican territory
- 13 of Texas and as a leader of the movement for independence, and the
- 14 town of Columbia served as the capital of Texas during the first
- 15 Texas Congress; in 1836, Brazoria County became one of the original
- 16 counties established by the new republic; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Farming and ranching initially constituted the
- 18 mainstays of the county's economy; the discovery of oil and sulfur
- 19 deposits in the early 20th century helped the region grow, and
- 20 chemical processing became increasingly important during World War
- 21 II and after; commercial fishing and the recreation industry have
- 22 helped to ensure continuing economic development; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Today, the eight cities of the Brazosport
- 24 area--Clute, Freeport, Jones Creek, Lake Jackson, Oyster Creek,

H.R. No. 948

- 1 Quintana, Richwood, and Surfside Beach--boast excellent schools
- 2 and affordable housing; visitors and residents alike take great
- 3 pleasure in miles of sandy beaches, bay and offshore fishing, scuba
- 4 diving, and outstanding bird-watching at the Brazoria and San
- 5 Bernard National Wildlife Refuges; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Angleton, the county seat, abounds with antique
- 7 shops and scenic parks and hosts the county fair, one of the largest
- 8 in Texas, every October; the town of Alvin is home to the Nolan Ryan
- 9 Center, which celebrates the career of its native son and Baseball
- 10 Hall of Famer; moreover, the nearby town of Pearland is a center for
- 11 the chemical and oil industries; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The educational opportunities available to students
- 13 at Alvin Community College and Brazosport College further
- 14 contribute to the county's many amenities; and
- WHEREAS, Even as they celebrate their rich heritage, the
- 16 hardworking citizens of Brazoria County are looking ahead to the
- 17 opportunities of the future and continuing to contribute greatly to
- 18 the growth and prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be
- 19 it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby recognize March 19, 2013, as Brazoria County Day
- 22 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best
- 23 wishes for a memorable and meaningful stay in Austin.

Thompson of Brazoria Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 948

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

						_	Speaker of the House					
I	certify	that	H.R.	No.	948	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	March
13, by a non-record vote.												

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 948

19, 2013, by a non-record vote.