H.R. No. 965

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Brazosport College in Lake Jackson has earned 2 recognition as one of the top community colleges in the nation by 3 being named as a finalist for the 2013 Aspen Prize for Community 4 College Excellence; and

5 WHEREAS, Presented by the Aspen Institute in Washington, 6 D.C., this prestigious award is the signature recognition for high 7 achievement by America's community colleges; Brazosport College is 8 one of only 10 such colleges in the nation, and the only one in 9 Texas, to be chosen as a finalist for this honor; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1968, Brazosport College has benefited from the dynamic leadership of Dr. Millicent Valek since 1996; the school's status as a leading regional center for higher education has been further strengthened by the recent completion of \$75 million in new and renovated facilities; and

WHEREAS, One of only three community colleges in Texas that offer an applied baccalaureate degree, Brazosport provides a variety of workforce training, transfer degree, and community outreach programs; the school has been selected as a Leader College by Achieving the Dream, a national student completion movement; of those who have graduated from the school since 2005, 99 percent are currently employed; and

22 WHEREAS, Almost half of all college students across the 23 country attend community colleges, and with this prestigious 24 recognition, Brazosport College has once again distinguished

1

1 itself as a state and national leader in affordable, quality
2 education; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Brazosport College on being named a finalist for the 2013 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence and extend to its administration, faculty, and students sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Brazosport College as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 965

2

H.R. No. 965

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 965

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 965 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House