RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For a century, The Facts newspaper has served 2 citizens of Brazoria County as a vital source of information; and 3 WHEREAS, This venerable publication was established by printer R. Roy Ruffin as The Freeport Facts, a weekly that debuted 4 5 on February 28, 1913, not long after the founding of Freeport; the first edition reported on the growth of the city and included 6 accounts of the completion of the Hotel Carlton and the opening of a 7 new grocery store; at the time, the paper was one of seven in the 8 9 area; and

WHEREAS, In 1914, а local editor 10 and publisher, 11 C. P. Kendall, Sr., purchased The Freeport Facts; he was committed 12 to covering the news thoroughly while supporting community and emphasizing positive developments, and this legacy was carried on 13 14 by his sons, Manis Kendall and C. P. Kendall, Jr., who assumed leadership in 1931; and 15

WHEREAS, The current owner, Southern Newspapers, 16 Inc., purchased the paper in 1952 and briefly called it The Daily 17 18 Facts-Review before public opinion prompted a change to the Brazosport Facts; five years later, publisher James Nabors took the 19 helm and built readership by adding a weekend edition and 20 21 increasing the size of the paper; Hurricane Carla temporarily halted production in 1961, but the publication quickly rebounded 22 and eventually outgrew its offices, leading Mr. Nabors to move its 23 24 headquarters to Clute in 1976; following his retirement, the paper

1

1 was led for six years by Bruce Morisse; and

WHEREAS, On July 1, 1992, Bill Cornwell began a distinguished tenure as editor and publisher that has continued for more than two decades; he expanded publication to seven days a week, extended coverage to most of the county, and changed the name from the *Brazosport Facts* to *The Facts* to reflect the wider reach; in recent years, the paper has kept pace with the digital age by establishing a website and social media presence; and

9 WHEREAS, The six original competitors to *The Facts* have long 10 since vanished, and it is now the only daily newspaper in the 11 county; its enduring presence is a testament to its proud tradition 12 of quality journalism and its steadfast dedication to the community 13 it serves; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby commemorate the centennial of *The Facts* newspaper and extend to all those associated with the publication sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the newspaper as an expression of high regard by the 20 Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 968 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House