By: Dutton

H.R. No. 971

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Exonerated former death row inmate Clarence 2 Brandley and citizens from across the Lone Star State are visiting 3 the Capitol on March 19, 2013, the Day of Innocence, in support of a 4 moratorium on executions and other related measures; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 1989, at least 117 individuals in Texas have 6 been exonerated, according to the National Registry of 7 Exonerations; these men and women were wrongfully convicted of a 8 crime and lost years of their lives in prison before eventually 9 being cleared of all the charges; data from 2012 ranks Texas among 10 the top three states for number of exonerations; and

11 WHEREAS, Convicted of murder in 1981, Clarence Brandley was 12 just weeks away from his scheduled execution when evidence of coerced testimony and blatant racism in his first two trials 13 14 prompted the FBI to intervene; three years later, the charges against him were dismissed; Mr. Brandley subsequently married, 15 16 apprenticed as an electrician, and became a Baptist minister; his life became the subject of a book, White Lies, and a cable TV movie, 17 Whitewash: The Clarence Brandley Story; and 18

WHEREAS, Other exonerees from Texas include Randall
D. Adams, Ricardo Aldape Guerra, Gilbert Alejandro, Billy
Frederick Allen, Gilbert Amezquita, Jason Barber, James
Blackshire, Michael Blair, Brandy Briggs, Stephen Brodie, Joyce
Ann Brown, A. B. Butler, Jr., Kevin Byrd, Domingo Calderon III,
Raul Cantu, Charles Chatman, Timothy B. Cole, Keith Coleman, Robert

1

H.R. No. 971

Carroll Coney, Darian Contee, Roy Criner, Anthony Curlin, Richard 1 Danziger, Muneer Deeb, Gayle Dove, Dale Duke, Cornelius Dupree, Joe 2 3 Elizondo, Mary Ann Elizondo, Hicks Elliff, Jerry Lee Evans, Hilliard Fields, Wiley Fountain, Sherri Frederick, Larry Fuller, 4 Ronnie Mark Gariepy, James Giles, Donald Wayne Good, Andrew 5 Gossett, Anthony Graves, Michael Anthony Green, Tony Hall, Ricky 6 Dale Harmon, John Michael Harvey, Andre Haygood, Eugene Henton, 7 8 Alejandro Hernandez, Raymond Jackson, Antrone Johnson, Morris S. Jones, Entre Nax Karage, Martin Kimsey, Carlos Marcos Lavernia, 9 10 Johnnie Lindsey, Debbie Loveless, Federico Macias, Norman Mack, Thomas McGowan, Richard Miles, Billy Wayne Miller, John Miller, 11 12 LaDondrell Montgomery, Patrick Montgomery, Brandon Moon, Michael Morton, Fredda Susie Mowbray, Arthur Mumphrey, Lacresha Murray, 13 14 Christopher Ochoa, Randall Philen, Steven Phillips, Johnny 15 Pinchback, David Shawn Pope, Allen Wayne Porter, Ricardo Rachell, Jesus Ramirez, Simon Angel Rivera, Shakara Robertson, Anthony 16 17 Robinson, George Rodriguez, Stephen Lynn Russell, Ben Salazar, Christopher Shun Scott, Michael Scott, Daniel Roy Settle, Alberto 18 19 Sifuentes, Claude Simmons, Jr., Billy James Smith, Marcus Lashun Smith, Robert Springsteen, Richard Sturgeon, Josiah Sutton, Ronald 20 Gene Taylor, Rickey Dale Thomas, Victor Larue Thomas, Stephen 21 Thompson, Michael Toney, Wesley Tuley, Keith Turner, Gilbert 22 23 Valdez, James Waller, Patrick Waller, Gregory Wallis, Nathaniel 24 Ward, Calvin E. Washington, Darryl Washington, Mark Webb, David Lee Wiggins, James Curtis Williams, Joe Sidney Williams, Thomas Wayne 25 26 Williams, Ernest Ray Willis, Richard Winfrey, Sr., James Lee Woodard, Michael Anthony Woten, and Rickey Dale Wyatt; and 27

2

H.R. No. 971

1 WHEREAS, There is no way to return the time that those who have been unjustly accused and imprisoned have lost, nor is there 2 compensation for the mental and emotional anguish that they have 3 suffered; notwithstanding their immeasurable pain, however, many 4 exonerees have found the resilience to take a terrible ordeal and 5 channel their response into constructive endeavors, and their 6 7 strength and determination to overcome are a continuing inspiration 8 to countless Americans; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 10 Legislature hereby recognize March 19, 2013, as the Day of 11 Innocence and honor Clarence Brandley and the many other exonerated 12 men and women for their tenacity in the pursuit of justice and for 13 their contributions to the debate over an issue of paramount public 14 concern.

3