H.R. No. 972

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Area residents are gathering at the Sugar Land
- 2 Skeeters Constellation Field on May 28, 2013, to recognize Memorial
- 3 Day and pay tribute to the men and women who have served, are
- 4 presently serving, or are on their way to serving in the United
- 5 States armed forces; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Originally called Decoration Day, Memorial Day is a
- 7 day of solemn remembrance for those who have died in our nation's
- 8 service; the toll of war has indeed been a heavy one: more than one
- 9 million U.S. military personnel have died during wartime, and
- 10 approximately 1.5 million have been wounded; thousands more have
- 11 endured extreme privation as prisoners of war, and still other
- 12 thousands have been listed as missing in action; and
- WHEREAS, In communities across the country, monuments have
- 14 been erected in tribute to those who have risked all in defiance of
- 15 tyranny and in their country's defense, and these memorials are the
- 16 physical representation of the gratitude that all Americans should
- 17 carry in their hearts for these brave individuals; and
- WHEREAS, With U.S. troops today engaged in difficult
- 19 operations overseas, endeavoring to secure peace and stability in
- 20 dangerous environments, Memorial Day ceremonies once again
- 21 resonate with profound meaning, and it is a privilege to join with
- 22 citizens throughout the nation in paying homage to the immeasurable
- 23 courage, commitment, and sacrifice of this country's military
- 24 personnel; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 972

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the Memorial Day event at
- 3 Constellation Field, honor the memory of those who have perished in
- 4 service to their nation, and extend deep gratitude to all members of
- 5 our country's armed forces who have served or are serving to protect
- 6 our freedom.

Miller of Fort Bend

TT	_	7. T	0.72
н	ν	NO	α / /

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 972 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House