RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Larry Coker of The University of Texas at San 2 Antonio has built an exceptional record of success as a college 3 football coach, and his leadership has been instrumental in the 4 early achievements of the Roadrunner football program; and

5 WHEREAS, A native of Okemah, Oklahoma, Coach Coker played 6 football as a defensive back at Northeastern State University; he 7 graduated in 1970 with a bachelor's degree in history and went on to 8 earn a master's degree in guidance counseling and physical 9 education from the same institution; and

WHEREAS, After beginning his career as a head coach at the high school level in his home state, Coach Coker entered the collegiate ranks in 1979 as an assistant at the University of Tulsa; he then worked as an assistant coach at Oklahoma State, Oklahoma, and Ohio State before joining the University of Miami in 1995 as offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach, and in 2001 he was promoted to head coach of the Hurricanes; and

WHEREAS, He was just the second coach in National Collegiate Athletic Association history to win a national championship in his debut season, and he racked up a total of 24 consecutive victories before suffering a loss; posting an outstanding 60-15 record in his six seasons at the helm, he led Miami to three Big East Conference titles and appearances in three Bowl Championship Series games, and he was twice honored as National Coach of the Year; and

24 WHEREAS, Coach Coker spent two years as a college football

1

1 analyst for ESPN before being hired by UTSA in 2009 to build the school's new football program from scratch; beginning play in 2011, 2 3 the team enjoyed unprecedented fan support from the outset, and the Roadrunners established NCAA records for inaugural game attendance 4 5 and average home attendance by a startup program; the 2012 season saw many highlights for UTSA, as Coach Coker guided the team to 6 their first victories in the Western Athletic Conference and in the 7 Football Bowl Subdivision; finishing with an 8-4 record, the squad 8 is well prepared to begin its initial season in Conference USA in 9 2013; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Through his knowledge, skill, and commitment to 12 excellence, Larry Coker has established the UTSA program as a 13 rising force in college football, and his teams are sure to be a 14 source of excitement for Roadrunner fans in the years to come; now, 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 17 Legislature hereby honor Larry Coker on his noteworthy coaching 18 career and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; 19 and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for Coach Coker as an expression of high regard by the 22 Texas House of Representatives.

Larson

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 983 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House