H.R. No. 1003

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, March 25, 2013, marks an important date in the lives
of Greek residents of Texas and beyond, as it commemorates the 192nd
anniversary of Greek Independence Day; and

WHEREAS, On March 25, 1821, the brave men and women of Greece began their struggle for liberty against the Ottoman Empire, and in January 1822 the rebels declared their nation's independence; and

7 WHEREAS, Both American and Greek cultures value faith, 8 community, civic engagement, and a democratic form of government; 9 our nations have long opposed tyrannical regimes that emphasize 10 military might and dominance over the well-being and rights of 11 people, and we share a willingness to make tremendous sacrifices in 12 order to advance the causes of freedom, equality, and human 13 dignity; and

WHEREAS, In forming our democratic framework, America's founders derived inspiration from the principles of democracy and liberty forged in Greece, and citizens of Texas built on those same ideals when they formed a government after achieving independence from Mexico in 1836; and

WHEREAS, Today, we join with all those who cherish freedom and self-determination to recognize this historic date and to reaffirm the democratic vision that gave birth to our two great nations; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize Greek Independence Day on March 25,

1

H.R. No. 1003 1 2013, and honor the important contributions made by Greek Americans 2 on this significant occasion.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 1003

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1003

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1003 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House