H.R. No. 1017

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mrs. Linda Jo G. Soliz became the first woman
- 2 elected to serve as a commissioner of Jim Hogg County when she
- 3 earned a majority of Precinct 1 votes in 2012; and
- WHEREAS, Raised by a family known for its civic engagement,
- 5 Mrs. Soliz is the daughter of Jose Gonzalez, who served as county
- 6 treasurer for more than 19 years until his passing, and the daughter
- 7 of Alicia Gonzalez, who served out her husband's term; in addition,
- 8 Mrs. Soliz's uncle, Primitivo Gonzalez, is a former Precinct 1
- 9 commissioner; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mrs. Soliz herself followed in her father's
- 11 footsteps to become county treasurer in 1990, and she remained in
- 12 that post for more than two decades; her four-year term as Precinct
- 13 1 commissioner began on January 1, 2013; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In all of her endeavors, Mrs. Soliz enjoys the
- 15 support and encouragement of her husband, Robert Soliz, as well as
- 16 their children, Jo Ann and Susana; the couple's family also
- 17 includes three treasured grandchildren, Trisha Ann, Joe Robert, and
- 18 JoDee Lynn Stacy; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Mrs. Linda Jo G. Soliz has distinguished herself
- 20 through her commitment to public service, and she is helping to make
- 21 Jim Hogg County an even better place in which to live and work; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Mrs. Linda Jo G. Soliz on her

H.R. No. 1017

- 1 election as the first female commissioner of Jim Hogg County and
- 2 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success with her
- 3 important work; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Commissioner Soliz as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 1017

| Straus | M. Gonzalez of El Paso | Oliveira |
|---------------------|------------------------|----------------------|
| Allen | N. Gonzalez of El Paso | Orr |
| Alonzo | Gooden | Otto |
| Alvarado | Guerra | Paddie |
| Anchia | Guillen | Parker |
| | | |
| Anderson | Gutierrez | Patrick |
| Ashby | Harless | Perez |
| Aycock | Harper-Brown | Perry |
| Bell | Hernandez Luna | Phillips |
| Bohac | Herrero | Pickett |
| Bonnen of Brazoria | Hilderbran | Pitts |
| Bonnen of Galveston | Howard | Price |
| Branch | Huberty | Raney |
| Burkett | Hughes | Ratliff |
| Burnam | Hunter | Raymond |
| Button | Isaac | Reynolds |
| Callegari | Johnson | Riddle |
| Canales | Kacal | Ritter |
| Capriglione | Keffer | Rodriguez of Bexar |
| Carter | | |
| | King of Hemphill | Rodriguez of Travis |
| Clardy | King of Parker | Rose |
| Coleman | King of Taylor | Sanford |
| Collier | King of Zavala | Schaefer |
| Cook | Kleinschmidt | Sheets |
| Cortez | Klick | Sheffield of Bell |
| Craddick | Kolkhorst | Sheffield of Coryell |
| Creighton | Krause | Simmons |
| Crownover | Kuempel | Simpson |
| Dale | Larson | Smith |
| Darby | Laubenberg | Smithee |
| Davis of Dallas | Lavender | Springer |
| J. Davis of Harris | Leach | Stephenson |
| S. Davis of Harris | Lewis | Stickland |
| Deshotel | Longoria | Strama |
| Dukes | Lozano | Taylor |
| Dutton | Lucio III | Thompson of Brazoria |
| Eiland | Marquez | Thompson of Harris |
| Elkins | Martinez | Toth |
| Fallon | Martinez Fischer | Turner of Collin |
| Farias | McClendon | Turner of Harris |
| Farney | Menendez | Turner of Tarrant |
| _ | Miles | Villalba |
| Farrar | Miller of Comal | |
| Fletcher | | Villarreal |
| Flynn | Miller of Fort Bend | Vo |
| Frank | Moody | Walle |
| Frullo | Morrison | White |
| Geren | Munoz, Jr. | Workman |
| Giddings | Murphy | Wu |
| Goldman | Naishtat | Zedler |
| Gonzales | Nevarez | Zerwas |
| | | |

| | H.R. NO. 1017 |
|---|---------------------------------|
| | Speaker of the House |
| I certify that H.R. No. 1017 wa 19, 2013, by a non-record vote. | s adopted by the House on March |
| | Chief Clerk of the House |