## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Cedar Park High School earned great distinction for

2 itself and its community by winning the 2012 University

Interscholastic League 4A Division 2 state championship in football

4 and the 4A championship in the State Marching Band Contest; and

5 WHEREAS, The Timberwolf band brought home top honors at the

6 UIL competition in San Antonio on November 5 and 6; the football

7 team followed suit on December 21, claiming the school's first

8 gridiron title with a 17-7 victory over Lancaster High School at

9 Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; and

10 WHEREAS, In capturing the football crown, the Cedar Park

11 players closed out a memorable season that included a 14-game

12 winning streak; the team was under the direction of head coach Joe

13 Willis, and the athletes received additional guidance from

14 offensive coordinators Carl Abseck and Tim Smith, defensive

15 coordinators Brent Brittain and Michael Quintero, special teams

16 coordinator Bryan Brittain, and assistant coaches Jim Barnette,

17 Connie Cochran, Greg Graham, Clint Hormann, Tyler Moore,

18 J. R. Romero, Brandon Schmidt, and Ahmad Zaidan; other key figures

19 contributing to the title quest included athletic trainer David

20 Bowman and middle school coaches Jason James, Brendan McCarthy,

21 Joseph Parsons, Rob Schoenfeld, and Brian Stringer; also essential

22 to the Timberwolves' success was the support of students, parents,

23 and teachers, as well as school district administrators and

24 trustees; and

3

- H.R. No. 1018 1 WHEREAS, Throughout the year, the football team benefited from the exceptional leadership of captains Austin Hisler, Ben 2 3 Harrall, Brandon Stephens, Nathan Harwell, Riley Mayfield, and Jackson Paine; excelling in the classroom as well as on the field, 4 5 numerous Cedar Park players distinguished themselves in their studies, and nine of the Timberwolves earned a spot on the 2012 6 Academic All-State roster: Jason Devlin and Doug Franklin on the 7 first team, Wadih Eljuri, Mr. Harwell, Stoney Schoenfeld, Jacob Smith, and Trevor Spohrer on the second team, and Mr. Stephens and 9 10 C. J. Udoye as honorable mentions; and WHEREAS, The 201-member Timberwolf marching band 11 was 12 supervised by head director Steve Wessels, with vital assistance from directors Bob Chreste, Evan VanDoren, Roland Chavez, and Andy 13 14 Mroczek; the ensemble took home the title after scoring first-place 15 finishes in both the preliminaries and the finals of the state contest, giving the school its second championship since 2001; 16
- Sarah Peterson, and Autumn Whaley; and 18 WHEREAS, With contributions from a wealth of talented 19 musicians, the Cedar Park band has been a perennial UIL sweepstakes 20 21 winner and an honor band finalist in Texas Music Educators Association competitions; moreover, the band has won the past two 22 23 Texas Color Guard state championships, and it has collected 24 trophies for stellar performances by its percussion ensembles; seven Cedar Park musicians recently won TMEA All-State Band honors, 25 26 a total that is the fifth highest among all Texas schools; and

leading the musicians on the field were drum majors Wyatt Hahn,

17

27 WHEREAS, By becoming state champion in football and marching

H.R. No. 1018

- 1 band in the same year, Cedar Park High School has furthered its
- 2 tradition of excellence, and these dual accomplishments will remain
- 3 a cherished memory for the school's students and supporters for
- 4 many years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cedar Park High School football
- 7 team and marching band on winning state championships in 2012 and
- 8 commend all those associated with the team and band for a job well
- 9 done; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Dale

H.R.	No.	1018

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1018 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House