By: Anderson H.R. No. 1044

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Six musicians from Midway High School received
- 2 special honors in the 2013 Texas Music Educators Association
- 3 All-State competition, and this fine showing indeed merits
- 4 recognition and commendation; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The TMEA All-State designation is the highest
- 6 achievement that a Texas secondary school music student can earn;
- 7 more than 60,000 young people from around the state compete
- 8 annually to perform in one of 13 All-State bands, orchestras, and
- 9 choirs; musicians are ranked by a panel of TMEA judges based on
- 10 their regional auditions, and a select group advances to perform in
- 11 one of seven area competitions; only the most accomplished
- 12 performers from the area contests qualify for one of the All-State
- 13 music ensembles; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Demonstrating great skill and dedication, Hannah
- 15 Burnett was selected to represent Midway in the All-State Orchestra
- 16 for her performance on viola, while Elaine Sury, an alto 2, and
- 17 Natalie Guess, a soprano 1, were both named to the All-State Women's
- 18 Choir; in addition, Kasie Meek, an alto 2, Katherine Burns, a
- 19 soprano 2, and Abby Bennett, an alto 1, were chosen as choir
- 20 alternates; and
- 21 WHEREAS, These talented young musicians are a source of pride
- 22 to their families, teachers, and fellow students, and they may
- 23 indeed look to the future with anticipation toward the many
- 24 exciting opportunities that lie ahead; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1044

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Abby Bennett, Hannah Burnett,
- 3 Katherine Burns, Natalie Guess, Kasie Meek, and Elaine Sury on
- 4 their success in the 2013 Texas Music Educators Association
- 5 All-State competition and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 6 the future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.