H.R. No. 1048

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Granger Independent School District celebrated
the 125th anniversary of its creation in 2012; and

3 WHEREAS, A small town in Williamson County, Granger was founded in 1882 and the Granger Common School District 4 was 5 established in 1887; a school was constructed that same year and an additional facility was built in 1906; the Hus Memorial School, 6 which opened in 1914, served as the site of a teacher enrichment 7 program; a new school was built in 1925, and it has since served as 8 the district's main building; it was designated a Recorded Texas 9 Historic Landmark in 1991; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Granger ISD has earned a "Recognized" rating from 12 the Texas Education Agency for 9 of the past 13 years; its students 13 compete in the 1A classification in University Interscholastic 14 League academic and athletic contests; and

15 WHEREAS, Grounded in the values of the families who have 16 chosen to make this small Williamson County community their home, 17 Granger ISD has provided generations of area Texans with a solid 18 foundation on which to build rewarding and productive lives; now, 19 therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 21 Legislature hereby commemorate the 125th anniversary of the Granger 22 Independent School District and extend to all faculty, staff, and 23 students sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 24 further

1

H.R. No. 1048 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Farney

H.R. No. 1048

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1048

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1048 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House