H.R. No. 1050

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Since 1946, the Raymondville Chamber of Commerce has
rendered vital services to the business community and citizens
throughout Willacy County; and

WHEREAS, Led by an executive director and a 20-member board of directors, the chamber attracts new firms to the area, promotes existing local businesses, encourages tourism, and assists with area economic development; moreover, it provides relocation assistance for interested parties and serves as the county's visitor information center; and

WHEREAS, The organization conducts a variety of activities to 10 11 further its goals, such as monthly networking breakfasts, an annual 12 membership drive, regular business seminars, ribbon cuttings, and grand opening celebrations; other sponsored events include an 13 14 annual July 4th festival, the Winter Texan Golf Tournament, the Wild in Willacy Boot Fest, and a Christmas tree lighting and holiday 15 16 parade; it also hosts the annual Willacy County Heritage Gala, recognizes outstanding members of the community with its Viva 17 Raymondville Awards, and keeps the community informed through its 18 website and quarterly publication, Wonderful Willacy; and 19

20 WHEREAS, For nearly seven decades, the Raymondville Chamber 21 of Commerce has been striving to make Willacy County an even better 22 place for businesses, visitors, and residents alike and it is 23 indeed worthy of recognition for this important work; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1050

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor the Raymondville Chamber of Commerce for 3 its outstanding service to the citizens of Willacy County and 4 extend to all those associated with the chamber sincere best wishes 5 for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 1050

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1050 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House