H.R. No. 1059

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 20 years, nurse practitioner Tim Flynn has helped to ensure that the health of numerous officials and employees in the legislative community remains capital; and
WHEREAS, Tim Flynn averages more than 4,000 visits per year from people who work in the Capitol Complex, and many would liken his role to that of a small-town doctor; during the biennial legislative session, when the influx of patients is at its peak, he

9 Capitol clinic single-handedly; as an advanced practice nurse, he

is joined by the physician of the day, but he otherwise oversees the

10 is certified to diagnose and treat a wide range of ailments, and his

11 expertise often spares patients the time and expense of a trip to

12 the doctor; and

8

13 WHEREAS, A former emergency medical technician, Mr. Flynn 14 earned a bachelor's degree in nursing from The University of Texas at Austin before going to work for the Texas Department of Human 15 16 Services; his job handling Medicaid appeals left him longing to interact with patients, so he took an opportunity to fill in as the 17 Capitol nurse during a special session in 1992; at the time, the 18 Department of Public Safety provided a nurse only during 19 legislative sessions, but lawmakers soon saw the need for a 20 21 continuous year-round health care provider; and

WHEREAS, Although Mr. Flynn enjoyed the job, he grew frustrated with his inability to write prescriptions; in 1999, with the encouragement of then house speaker Pete Laney, he applied to

H.R. No. 1059

- 1 the master's program at his alma mater, using such unchallengeable
- 2 references as Mr. Laney and Governor George W. Bush; he completed
- 3 his master's degree in 2002, graduating with a perfect 4.0 grade
- 4 point average, and became certified as a nurse practitioner; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Flynn approaches his work with obvious
- 6 enthusiasm and dedication; he shares a strong rapport with those
- 7 who seek his care, and he has earned their gratitude and admiration
- 8 for his skill and compassion; also respected by his peers in the
- 9 field of nursing, he was honored with the 1994 Community Health
- 10 Nurse of the Year award by the Texas Nurses Association, District 5,
- 11 as well as with the 2007 Austin Advanced Practice Nurses Alliance
- 12 Award of Excellence; and
- WHEREAS, While membership and staff have changed and the
- 14 winds of politics have blown this way and that, Tim Flynn has
- 15 remained a real lifesaver, both literally and figuratively, and it
- 16 is with great pleasure that we join him in celebrating his 20th
- 17 anniversary at the Capitol; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby honor Tim Flynn for his outstanding tenure as
- 20 Capitol nurse practitioner and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 21 for many more years of success and happiness; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Mr. Flynn as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 24 House of Representatives.

Miles

H.R. No. 1059

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

					H.R.	No.	1059
	_						
		Speaker of the House					
	I certify that H.R. No. 1059 was	adopted	by t	he	House	on	March
27,	2013, by a non-record vote.						
	_						
		Chief	Clei	rk o	of the	Hou	ıse