H.R. No. 1064

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Judy Sewell is retiring as executive director of the
- 2 Henderson Area Chamber of Commerce on July 15, 2013, drawing to a
- 3 close a notable tenure with the organization that has spanned more
- 4 than a decade; and
- 5 WHEREAS, An East Texas native, Ms. Sewell has lived in
- 6 Henderson since 1976 and has owned three businesses in the town; she
- 7 was appointed executive director of the chamber in 2002 and helped
- 8 ensure that the association had a solid financial foundation; she
- 9 also has worked to build a vibrant future for the area, and under
- 10 her direction, the chamber began Leadership Henderson; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Engaged in her community, Ms. Sewell is involved
- 12 with the Legislative Board, the Rotary Club of Henderson Board, the
- 13 Historic Preservation Committee, the Henderson Independent School
- 14 District, the Rusk County Heritage Association, and the Committee
- 15 for the Home Tour; during her coming retirement, she hopes to remain
- 16 active in the city, but she also looks forward to traveling to such
- 17 destinations as San Francisco, Colorado Springs, and New York City,
- 18 as well as to locations abroad; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Judy Sewell has served the business community and
- 20 citizens of Henderson with ability and devotion, and she may indeed
- 21 reflect on her accomplishments with pride as she looks forward to
- 22 the next exciting chapter of her life; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Judy Sewell on her retirement as

H.R. No. 1064

- 1 executive director of the Henderson Area Chamber of Commerce and
- 2 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be
- 3 it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Sewell as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Clardy

н	R	No.	7 ()64

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1064 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House