H.R. No. 1094

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Friendswood High School Academic Decathlon Team
- 2 won the 2013 4A state championship at the event held February 22-24
- 3 in San Antonio; and
- WHEREAS, The Academic Decathlon program provides high school
- 5 students an opportunity to experience the challenges of rigorous
- 6 academic competition through participation in team activities;
- 7 subjects include art, music, math, science, social studies,
- 8 language and literature, economics, essay, speech, and interview;
- 9 and
- WHEREAS, Friendswood scholars garnered 27 individual medals
- 11 to earn first place overall, and team members also claimed among the
- 12 top three finishes in the honors, scholastic, and varsity
- 13 divisions; by capturing the state title, the club collected \$20,800
- 14 in scholarships, with each member individually earning a \$1,200
- 15 scholarship; and
- WHEREAS, Members of the talented team include Bryan Holcomb,
- 17 Derek Janak, Julia Lu, Zach Cocetti, Chase Ehrig, Raymond Monahan,
- 18 Drew Hopf, Kim Hall, David Snowden, and alternates Faizaan Amir and
- 19 Roma Pradhan; the students were ably assisted in their efforts by
- 20 coaches Renae Simons, Arden Curtis, and Ashley Birmingham,
- 21 superintendent Trish Hanks, and principal Mark Griffon; further
- 22 credit goes to all those in the community who served as sponsors,
- 23 held practice interviews, and listened to speeches; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The 2012-2013 Academic Decathlon Team is a source of

H.R. No. 1094

- 1 great pride to the faculty, staff, and students of Friendswood High
- 2 School, and its first-place showing at this year's state contest is
- 3 indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Friendswood High
- 6 School Academic Decathlon Team and their coaches on winning the
- 7 2013 4A state championship and extend to them sincere best wishes
- 8 for continued success; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Galveston

H.R. No. 1094

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/ 3.4 4 4	

	H.R. No. 1094
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1094 was	s adopted by the House on April
3, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House