H.R. No. 1096

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the pregnancy resource centers in this state for their 3 efforts on behalf of women facing unexpected pregnancy; and

WHEREAS, These important organizations offer free pregnancy tests and sonograms, as well as emotional support and education, and they work in conjunction with maternity homes and adoption centers to provide options for pregnant women; and

8 WHEREAS, Dedicated to meeting both the immediate and the 9 long-term needs of their clients, the centers offer a variety of 10 classes to ensure that potential mothers-to-be have important life 11 skills and are able to realize their full potential as mothers and 12 as productive members of society; courses include parenting, budget 13 keeping, and in some locations, English as a Second Language; and

14 WHEREAS, Pregnancy resource centers play a unique role in 15 Texas and around the country as they work to provide a safe place of 16 contemplation for women considering the life-affirming options of 17 motherhood and adoption; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 19 Legislature hereby recognize the founders, staffs, and volunteers 20 of pregnancy resource centers across the state for the services 21 they provide to women facing unexpected pregnancy.

> Laubenberg Simmons Klick Harper-Brown Burkett

1

H.R. No. 1096

Orr

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales M. Gonzalez of El Paso

Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1096

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1096 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House