H.R. No. 1101

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Irving Independent School District will bid
- 2 farewell to an outstanding athletic director when Joe Barnett
- 3 retires from that post on June 30, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Barnett holds a bachelor's degree and a master's
- 5 degree in secondary education from the University of North Texas;
- 6 his exemplary 41-year career has included coaching assignments at
- 7 Valley Mills, Plano, and Allen as well as a notable tenure with
- 8 Coppell ISD, where he was the athletic director for 13 years in
- 9 addition to serving as the head football coach; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Since taking on his current post for Irving ISD in
- 11 2003, this skilled administrator has focused on upgrading the
- 12 district's recreational facilities, and he has hired a number of
- 13 coaches who have made significant contributions to school sports
- 14 programs; moreover, he was instrumental in the creation of the
- 15 Irving ISD Athletic Hall of Fame; and
- WHEREAS, Highly respected by his peers, Mr. Barnett was named
- 17 Athletics Director of the Year by the National Football Foundation
- 18 and College Hall of Fame Gridiron Club of Dallas in 2010, and he
- 19 held the office of president for the Texas High School Athletic
- 20 Directors Association in 2011; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Joe Barnett has greatly benefited Irving ISD and the
- 22 wider community through his energy, vision, and commitment, and he
- 23 may indeed reflect with pride on his many achievements; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1101

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

Legislature hereby congratulate Joe Barnett on his retirement as

the athletic director of the Irving Independent School District and

extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for Mr. Barnett as an expression of high regard by the

Texas House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

H.R. No. 1101

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1101 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House