H.R. No. 1149

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Water Smart Coalition are
visiting the State Capitol on April 4, 2013; and

3 WHEREAS, A public-private coalition of businesses, trade 4 associations, cities, water suppliers, research organizations, and 5 state and local officials, the Texas Water Smart Coalition was 6 formed to promote voluntary water conservation; the group 7 encourages the adoption of everyday practices that reduce 8 unnecessary use of our state's most vital resource; and

9 WHEREAS, The coalition offers a consumer education program 10 that provides simple, cost-effective watering and gardening tips, 11 such as checking for leaks, adjusting sprinklers, and using mulch 12 in flower beds, and it shares its important message through a 13 variety of media outlets; and

WHEREAS, Through the efforts of the Texas Water Smart Coalition, individuals and businesses have gained heightened awareness of conservation measures, and surveys indicate that the organization's education program has been effective in helping the public to reduce water usage; and

WHEREAS, Extreme drought has diminished water supplies across the Lone Star State, and conservation is key to ensuring that the needs of a growing population can be met; by expanding knowledge of the many easy ways in which consumers can reduce their use of water, the members of the Texas Water Smart Coalition are helping to promote positive habits that will benefit the state's residents for

1

H.R. No. 1149

1 years to come; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor the Texas Water Smart Coalition and extend 4 to its members sincere best wishes for continued success in their 5 important work; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the coalition as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Ritter

H.R. No. 1149

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1149 was adopted by the House on April 10, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House