## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Between 1933 and 1945, Nazi Germany carried out the 2 systematic persecution and annihilation of six million European 3 Jews, as well as millions of other people, and this mass slaughter, 4 known as the Holocaust, will forever signify the potential for 5 unchecked intolerance, racism, and cruelty to achieve devastating 6 results; and

7 WHEREAS, Although it is a painful and wrenching experience to reflect on the tragic events that occurred during those dark years, 8 9 it is only through remembrance that we can rightfully acknowledge and honor the men, women, and children whose lives were brutally cut 10 11 short; Jews became the primary victims of the state-sponsored 12 genocide, while Roma, Poles, the handicapped, homosexuals, Jehovah's Witnesses, Soviet prisoners of war, and political 13 14 dissidents were also persecuted; ultimately, all of these groups were decimated under the tyranny of the Third Reich; and 15

16 WHEREAS, This horrific and shameful history is a powerful 17 reminder of our responsibilities as citizens of a democracy to 18 remain vigilant against hatred, bigotry, and violence and to defend 19 the causes of individual freedom, national liberty, and equality 20 and respect for every human being; moreover, we must reject the 21 false claims of those who deny the Holocaust; and

WHEREAS, Each year, the United States Holocaust Memorial Council designates an eight-day period as the Days of Remembrance, and this year's commemoration extends from Sunday, April 7, 2013,

1

1 through Sunday, April 14, 2013; and

2 WHEREAS, The events of the Holocaust are inextricably linked 3 to the obligation of people everywhere to uphold the cause of human 4 rights, and as we, the people of Texas, recall this disturbing time 5 in history, may we also be mindful of our duty to stand firm against 6 all forms of injustice; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize April 7-14, 2013, as the Days of
Remembrance, and encourage all Texans to do their part to keep the
stories of Holocaust victims and survivors alive.

Naishtat N. Gonzalez of El Paso Goldman

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1159 was adopted by the House on April 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House