H.R. No. 1162

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Stephen F. Austin State University men's
 basketball team claimed the 2012-2013 Southland Conference regular
 season title with a victory on March 9; and

WHEREAS, The decisive win against Texas 4 came A&M 5 University--Corpus Christi; using a barrage of three-point shots to overcome their opponent's tough defense, the Lumberjacks secured a 6 7 58-49 triumph; senior Taylor Smith, who has been named the league's Most Valuable Player, scored 17 points and hauled in 12 rebounds to 8 9 record his 10th double-double of the year; and

10 WHEREAS, With the victory, the SFASU team remained undefeated 11 at home and brought its conference record to 16 wins and just 2 12 losses; moreover, the Lumberjacks' 26 regular-season wins are the 13 most recorded since the school entered the Division 1 collegiate 14 ranks; and

WHEREAS, This achievement marks the third Southland Conference basketball title for SFASU, and all three have come under the skillful leadership of head coach Danny Kaspar, who was named the league's Coach of the Year for the second time in his career; and

WHEREAS, With their exceptional performances on the court, the Lumberjacks have been a source of great pride and excitement for SFASU students and supporters during the 2012-2013 season, and the team's success has brought further acclaim to the notable tradition of athletic excellence at the university; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1162

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the men's basketball team of 3 Stephen F. Austin State University on winning the Southland 4 Conference regular season title and extend to the team's players, 5 coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 6 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Clardy

H.R. No. 1162

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1162 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House