RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Respected oilman Deane Stoltz is being honored for
his notable career with his posthumous induction into the Petroleum
Hall of Fame on April 18, 2013; and

WHEREAS, The Petroleum Hall of Fame, which is based at the Permian Basin Petroleum Museum in Midland, recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the development of the petroleum industry or who have inspired others through their achievements, service, or strength of character; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Stoltz was born in Ottumwa, Iowa, on April 3, 10 1929; he graduated from Northwestern University and went on to 11 serve in the U.S. Navy before settling in Midland in 1955; 12 originally working as an independent oil operator, he went on to 13 partner with Cyril Wagner and Jack Brown to form Stoltz and Company; 14 and

15 WHEREAS, The business later merged with Tipperary Land and 16 Exploration, which Mr. Stoltz served as president and chair of the 17 board; following his resignation in 1989, he drew on his many 18 decades of experience to establish his own independent oil and gas 19 company; and

20 WHEREAS, This engaged Texan was active in his community, 21 serving as president of the Midland ISD board of trustees, chair of 22 the Alexis de Tocqueville Society, and officer of the local United 23 Way; he was also a charter member of the Midland Community Theatre 24 board of trustees and chair of the Midland Presbyterian Homes board

1

1 of trustees and the Permian Basin Area Foundation; and

2 WHEREAS, West Texas lost this esteemed business and civic 3 leader when he passed away on January 29, 2006, at the age of 76; and 4 WHEREAS, Deane Stoltz truly distinguished himself as an 5 influential figure in an industry that is such a vital part of the 6 Texas economy, and he is indeed a worthy addition to the hall of 7 fame; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 9 Legislature hereby honor the memory of Deane Stoltz on the occasion 10 of his induction into the Petroleum Hall of Fame and pay tribute to 11 him for his many worthwhile accomplishments; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for Mr. Stoltz's family as an expression of high regard by 14 the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1164 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House